Skip to content ↓

Liturgical Calendar

SS Peter & Paul RC Primary School ~ Liturgical information

The liturgical calendar is the cycle of seasons in the Roman Rite of the Catholic Church. The Church year begins each year with Advent, the season awaiting Christ's coming, and ends with the final Saturday of Ordinary time. Within the standard calendar year, the Church year starts in early December (or sometimes the end of November) and goes through the following November. 

The Church year consists of six liturgical seasons: Advent, Christmas, Ordinary Time after Epiphany, Lent, Easter, and Ordinary Time after Pentecost. Seasons begin or end based on a movable feast and so some seasons vary in length from year to year and vary as to the calendar dates. 

New Liturgical Year starts with getting a Liturgical Calendar appCatholic  Apptitude | A testament to digital ministry | The Best List of Top Catholic  Apps

A chart with different symbols

Description automatically generated


This Year’s Church Liturgical Dates

A person lying on the floor