Skip to content ↓

Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross, sometime called Way of the Cross, is a popular Lenten devotion that has very ancient roots. It was prayed by early Christian communities, especially when the Roman Empire began to recognise Christianity. People also used to make a pilgrimage to Jerusalem to retrace Jesus' steps from his arrest in the Garden of Gethsemane to being forced to carry the cross to the place where he was crucified, Golgotha. 

For those people that couldn't make the pilgrimage, churches and other buildings as "stations" would represent each stage of what happened to Jesus. Groups would travel from station to station, remembering and praying at each one. Gradually over time, churches have installed plaques or pictorial depictions of all the stations. 

The Way of the Cross traditionally consists of 14 iconic stations that depict the events of Jesus' journey to crucifixion. A 15th station, which is not depicted by an icon, is meant to remember Jesus' resurrection. The 14 traditional stations are:

  • Jesus is condemned to death
  • Jesus accepts the cross
  • Jesus falls for the first time
  • Jesus meets his sorrowing mother
  • Simon of Cyrene carries the cross for Jesus
  • Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  • Jesus falls a second time
  • Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  • Jesus falls a third time
  • Jesus is stripped of his clothes
  • Jesus is nailed to the cross
  • Jesus dies on the cross
  • The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross
  • The body of Jesus is laid in the tomb

As we have been unable to visit the church and pray the Station of the Cross, we have instead created our own Stations in school in Art and have prepared a reflection. This can be viewed below.

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please